Sen. Wilborn files for re-election

During this pandemic, we are endeavoring to take care of our community. If you have the means to back us through a subscription or a gift subscription for someone else, we appreciate your support.

Sen. Richard Wilborn, R-McPherson, has filed for re-election to the senate from District 35. He is the only candidate filed at this time.

Wilborn, who is Senate Judiciary Chair, defeated Democrat Levi Morris 71 percent to 28 percent in the 2016 general election. In 2014, Wilborn won in a five way primary election and was not contested in the general election for the seat held briefly by Clark Shultz, after the resignation of Sen. Jay Emler, R-Lindsborg, who was appointed to the Kansas Corporation Commission.

District 35 is Chase, Ellsworth, Marion, McPherson and Morris counties and parts of Dickinson and Rice counties.